Thanks
    Level completed: 47%,
    Points required for next Level: 26
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Overall activity: 2.0%

Default Need a new motherboard

Hi everyone,
    Please excuse me for my lack of info on this subject, I'm a newbie when it comes to computer things like this. I have an HP Pavilion Elite m9350f (Contact HP Support and Customer Service | HP®*Support) with all its original parts (except the hard drive and graphics card, but they're still the same brand). The motherboard it contains is the Asus M2N78-LA Viola, which I'm pretty positive is what's no longer working. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for alternative motherboards? Cus getting this is gonna run me around $100, and if I'm gonna spend that much then I'd rather go with the best option I can find. I already know I need to look for one that supports an AM2+ processor, and has 4 slots for my memory (DDR2-800, I think). But other than that, I dunno what to look for. My main concern is I accidentally get one that doesnt fit the case (mid-size ATX) or has the wrong screw placement. Anyone know of any good boards that will be compatible with what I already have to work with?

Also, is there anything I need to know about installing a new motherboard? I already know I have to buy an OS since the only one I had was preinstalled on the old board and no idea where the recovery disk is (didnt know that existed until an hour ago sooo....). But other than that, anything I have to do or will I be good to go with just the new OS?

And thanks to anyone who can help.

Gu3

Status

Last Online
    18-04-2019 @ 12:45
    CPU: i7-4770K @ 4GHZ
    M/B: MSI Z87 MPOWER ATX LGA1150
    RAM: 32GB (2 X Crucial 16GB Ballistix Elite (2 x 8GB) CAS 9, DDR3 1866 )
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 760 4GB Dual FTW ACX
    • Gu3's Full Spec's
      • Case:
      • Fractal Design Define R4 Blackout
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic XPS2 / 660W / 660 Platinum